whole political

The Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, a free, independent and indivisible state, is a parliamentary democracy in the form of a constitutional monarchy.

Its whole political system is based on a Constitution dating from 1868, which has been revised many times over the decades. This Constitution establishes, first of all, the equality of citizens before the law. It also protects them against the State's power by guaranteeing them civil liberties and fundamental rights, such as individual liberty, protection of privacy, freedom of worship, the right of association, etc.

In addition, the separation of State powers limits abuses related to the exercise of its duties. There are three branches of State power: legislative power, the power to discuss and pass legislation; executive power, to implement legislation; and judicial power, the power to interpret the law and resolve disputes. Apart from this, the State has the monopoly of force and on raising taxes.

In Luxembourg, legislative power is exercised by the Chamber of Deputies, which represents the country. It is elected every 5 years by universal suffrage. The task of the 60 Members of Parliament is to pass legislation. Acts are first reviewed by the Council of State, which examines whether they are in accordance with the Constitution, international conventions and the general principles of law.

As Head of State, the Grand Duke is the holder of executive power. In practice, he delegates this authority to the government. The latter is formed based on the results of the legislative elections. Led by the Prime Minister, the government is responsible for managing the country's policies. This means that it has to draft legislation, implement the laws adopted by the Chamber of Deputies while also managing the day-to-day affairs of the State.

Finally, the judiciary, which is independent from the other branches of power, has the task of enforcing the law through the courts and tribunals. In addition to a Constitutional Court, which decides on the conformity of laws with the constitution, there are two other types of courts: the ordinary courts, which resolve civil disputes; and the administrative courts, which deal with appeals against the State authorities.